Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Support Indigenous Independent Media in Flagstaff, Arizona




Support Indigenous Independent Media in Flagstaff!

Taala Hooghan Infoshop
A benefit open mike for Taala Hooghan!
Join us Sunday, August 29th at 6:30PM
$3 donation – performers free.
At Taala Hooghan Infoshop
1704 N. 2nd St. East Flagstaff, AZ
http://www.taalahooghan.org/
Benefit Open Mike!

Greetings,
We have a few more events before we wrap up our August calendar.
We are also putting together September's calendar so if you have any events you want hosted and posted, let us know!
Some news:
- We updated our website: http://www.taalahooghan.org/. Check it out & leave us some comment love!
- We have a new Free Box! Its packed full of great stuffs right now, there's always room for more.
- We have a little article in the Navajo-Hopi Observer: http://www.navajohopiobserver.com/main.asp?SectionID=74&SubSectionID=547&ArticleID=12793
- We've also partnered with the Impact Center, a fitness/boxing group that offers classes for youth empowerment and substance abuse prevention. They are operating in the garage space, come by and check it out!

As always we are in need of donations for next months rent/bills. Either stop by and help us out or send us an email if you'd like to help keep this community space alive.

Check out these upcoming August events:

Fri. 27th – Volunteer Meeting/Anartea – 6:30PM
Come learn more about the community space and what you can do to be part of it! All while sharing some good tea. :)

SUNDAY: A benefit open mike for Taala Hooghan!
Join us Sunday, August 29th at 6:30PM
$3 donation – performers free.

MONDAY: SAVE THE PEAKS! NO DRINKING WATER FOR SNOWMAKING!
On August 30th Flagstaff City Council will decide whether or not to sell Flagstaff's precious drinking water to a single private business for recreation.

As City water prices go up and Flagstaff is threatened to run out of water by 2050, Arizona Snowbowl Ski Business has been offered $11 million tax payer dollars by the USDA to subsidize their plan to make fake snow. This amounts to a corporate bailout for a business located outside of city limits. Visit www.truesnow.org for more info.

We have a chance to stand for our future and respect.

IMPORTANT PUBLIC MEETING:
When: August 30th at 5:30PM
Where: Sinagua High School
Located at 3950 East Butler Avenue Flagstaff, AZ.

PRAYER VIGIL & RALLY BEFORE:
4PM at Fox Glenn Park (4200 E. Butler Ave)

TAKE ACTION NOW!
Urge Flagstaff City Council to VOTE NO DRINKING WATER FOR SNOWMAKING!

Contact members of the City Council:

To email all: council@flagstaffaz.gov
Leave an audio comment: (928) 779-7600

Mayor Sara Presler spresler@flagstaffaz.gov
Vice Mayor Celia Barotz cbarotz@flagstaffaz.gov
Councilmember Art Babbott ababbott@flagstaffaz.gov
Councilmember Karla Brewster kbrewster@flagstaffaz.gov
Councilmember Coral Evans cevans@flagstaffaz.gov
Councilmember Scott Overton soverton@flagstaffaz.gov

Councilmember Al White awhite@flagstaffaz.gov

To make an appointment with the Mayor or a Councilmember call (928) 779-7600.

Send Letters to the Editor of the Arizona Daily Sun:
Randy Wilson rwilson@azdailysun.com
Taala Hooghan - Infoshop & Youth Media Arts Center
www.taalahooghan.org
Klee Benally
indigenousaction@gmail.com
www.indigenousaction.org - Independent Indigenous Media
www.oybm.org - Indigenous Youth Empowerment!
www.savethepeaks.org - Protect Sacred Places
www.taalahooghan.org - Flagstaff Infoshop
www.blackfire.net

www.myspace.com/eelk
www.twitter.com/eelk
Skype: indigenousaction

No comments:

Censored News PayPal



Censored News depends on reader donations for live coverage. brendanorrell@gmail.com